Abmelden bei Facebook unmöglich?

You can checkout any time you like, but you can never leave…
The Eagles – Hotel California

Was man in den letzten drei Tagen über Facebook gelesen hat, macht das als „sozial“ getarnte Werbenetzwerk noch viel unsympathischer als es ohnehin schon ist. Am Samstag veröffentlicht David Winer einen Artikel „Facebook is scaring me„, in dem er darauf hinweist, dass mit der Neuversion des Netzwerks („Chroniken“) auch Tätigkeiten eines Benutzers auf der Timeline geteilt werden, selbst wenn sie oder er diese nicht explizit zum Teilen freigibt.

Something like: „Bull Mancuso just read a tutorial explaining how to kill a member of another crime family.“ Bull didn’t comment. He didn’t press a Like button. He just visited a web page. And an announcement was made on his behalf to everyone who follows him on Facebook. Not just his friends, because now they have subscribers, who can be total strangers.

Winer schlägt vor, sich von Facebook abzumelden, um dieses „Feature“ zu umgehen. Doch genau das, so Nik Cubrilovic am darauffolgenden Tag, ist eigentlich nicht möglich, da selbst abgemeldete Benutzer von Facebook weiterhin getrackt werden.

Logging out of Facebook only de-authorizes your browser from the web application, a number of cookies (including your account number) are still sent along to all requests to facebook.com. Even if you are logged out, Facebook still knows and can track every page you visit. The only solution is to delete every Facebook cookie in your browser, or to use a separate browser for Facebook interactions.

Und heute, Montag, gibt es bereits ein Statement von Facebook im Wall Street Journal dazu.

Facebook acknowledges that it gets that data but says it deletes it right away. The company says the data is sent because of the way the “Like” button system is set up; any cookies that are associated with Facebook.com will automatically get sent when you view a “Like” button. … So why does Facebook keep cookies after you log out in the first place? Bejar said that it’s to prevent spam and phishing attacks and to help keep users from having to go through extra authentication steps every time they log in.

Wie hilfreich doch Spam sein kann.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!